You are:

Social Bookmark

International Optometrist Award

The International Optometrist Award (previously International Optometrist of the Year award) is given to an optometrist who has shown outstanding commitment to the profession and the community.

See the past winners here.

Nominations for the next International Optometrist Award are now invited.

The selection panel will be chaired by the President and will include two Past Presidents, with the Company Secretary in attendance.

This award will be presented during the WCO’s General Delegates’ Meeting in April 2013, in Malaga, Spain.

Nomination criteria

  • There should be clear evidence that the nominee is making an outstanding contribution to the development of the profession of optometry worldwide and to the community.
  • Nominees and nominators must be a member of a WCO member organisation whose fees are up to date.
  • Serving Governing Board members or those who have been serving Governing Board members in the past two years are not eligible for this award.
  • Previous recipients of the Distinguished Service Award are not eligible for the International Optometrist Award.

Nomination guidelines

Suggested areas to include in the supporting statement are:

  • Evidence of active involvement in optometric development within an international community.
  • Contribution to projects in an international setting which demonstrate advocacy, education, policy development or humanitarian outreach.
  • Current, ongoing or past activities can be included.     

How to nominate
To nominate an optometrist for this award, please complete this form and return to or apply online.

Nominations must be received by 1 October 2012.

Find out more
For more information on WCO awards, including the selection panel, nominations and definitions, please download a copy of the Awards Standing Orders.